Fionnabhar: YA Paranormal

I go by fionnabhar online, but it’s just the Scots Gaelic spelling of my real name, Jennifer.

One of my WIPs is the second in a YA paranormal series. I wrote it during my first NaNoWriMo, and I had the attitude of oh, write it any old way, you can always edit it later. Consequently, it’s a scrambled hot mess after many, many rewrites and edits. And that’s what I need a critical eye (that isn’t my own) for.

The work is technically paranormal, but it doesn’t fall into the horror category. It’s a cozy paranormal, which is a genre I just made up. :slight_smile:

What I would be looking for, once I’m ready for someone to look at it, would be a critic who could check out the overall story arc, check for loose ends and plot holes, gaps in exposition, continuity errors, and that sort of thing. Not anywhere near needing proofreading mechanics checked yet.

In return, I would happy to do the same. I’m also a topnotch proofreader. I’m an English teacher by day. I’m also a pretty fast editor. I prefer to work with MSWord for it’s comments feature, so I’m not actually changing anyone’s document. As I mentioned, I’m almost ready to have someone look at this dumpster fire. I’m hoping to have it at least beginning-to-end in a sensible manner by the end of this year’s NaNoWriMo. For the record, I am not precious about critique. I don’t get all up in my feelings hurt about negative comments or constructive criticism. For this work, it’s what I need desperately!

It’s probably not applicable, but I’m in Kansas City, Kansas.

Here’s a first little bit:

The pain made Philip Devlin open his eyes. His room was dark, except for the sliver of silver moonlight streaming through the window and across his bed. A breeze rippled the curtains and raised goosebumps on his sweaty skin. It all looked familiar—the bedclothes, the curtains, the wardrobe, the glass of water by his bed, the lampshade. He just couldn’t remember how he’d gotten home.